Dundee Utd 1
Falkirk 0
League (SPL)

Dundee Utd
1 - 0

League (SPL)
Saturday, December 27th, 2008
Tannadice Park. Att. 7,972
3:00 PM Kick-off

Scott Robertson (21)

Team Managers
Craig Levein
John Hughes

Starting Eleven
1. Lukasz Załuska
2. Seán Dillon
4. Lee Wilkie
23. Paul Dixon
18. Garry Kenneth
6. Willo Flood
16. Morgaro Gomis
15. Craig Conway
8. Scott Robertson
9. Jon Daly
7. Warren Feeney
Robert Olejnik
Jackie McNamara
Lee Bullen
Darren Barr
Dean Holden
Scott Arfield
Arnau Riera
Burton O'Brien
Neil McCann
Steve Lovell
Michael Higdon

13. Michael McGovern
19. Mihael Kovačević
3. Danny Grainger
14. Danny Swanson
12. David Robertson
11. Fran Sandaza
20. Andis Shala
Scott Flinders
Patrick Cregg
Kevin McBride
Graham Barrett
Carl Finnigan
John Stewart
Tam Scobbie

Fran Sandaza for Warren Feeney (87)
Kevin McBride for Burton O'Brien (46)
Patrick Cregg for Arnau Riera (64)
Thomas Scobbie for Dean Holden (70)

None. Michael Higdon (53)
Darren Barr (65)

Red Cards
None. Darren Barr (82)
Match Officials

Chris Boyle (Referee)

Match Report

United handed their supporters a late Christmas present with three deserved points in an entertaining victory over Falkirk. A solitary strike by Scott Robertson proved to be the difference between the sides, however chances were a plenty and the score line should have been far more emphatic for the home side. To make matters worse for the visitors they had their skipper Darren Barr ordered off for two bookable offences.

After a hard fought draw at Tynecastle Craig Levein made two changes to the United line up to face the Bairns. Mihael Kovacevic was replaced at full back by Sean Dillon and Warren Feeney returned in place of David Robertson who also had to settle for a place on the bench. United also had Francisco Sandaza listed as a substitute with the Spaniard approaching full fitness.

United went in at the break with a deserved albeit narrow lead. The goal came on the 22 minute mark through a fine finish from Scott Robertson following great work from Dixon and Feeney. United also had the ball in the net early on when Dixon crossed to Feeney who flicked the ball against the crossbar and Daly was there to knock it home. However United’s top scorer was ruled to be in an offside position. United were looking in the mood and also went close with further chances from both Robertson and Daly. In the opening period Falkirk created very little although with seven minutes of the half left the ball broke to Arfield and with only the goalkeeper to beat he smashed the ball high over the crossbar.

The second half provided plenty of talking points and minutes after the restart Zaluska saved well from Arfield before United broke up the park and Conway sliced an effort which came back off the crossbar. United were playing some brilliant football and on 56 minutes should have been further ahead when Dillon picked out Feeney who crossed to the head of Daly and he remarkably headed over from a couple of yards out. Six minutes later United again had a great opportunity but Feeney blasted over with the goal gaping. United were then robbed of a penalty when Barr brought down Feeney in the penalty box but the referee waved play on. Before the end United were almost made to pay for their missed chances when Arfield shot against the United post.

Squad Statistics (as at December 27th, 2008)

2008-09 All Time
Lukasz Załuska (GK)26 23 - 42 -
Seán Dillon25 16 - 722
Paul Dixon22 16 - 16 -
Lee Wilkie28 224758
Garry Kenneth21 11 - 754
Morgaro Gomis23 23 - 792
Craig Conway23 213745
Willo Flood23 19 - 631
Scott Robertson23 235235
Jon Daly25 1483610
Warren Feeney27 102102
Fran Sandaza (sub)24 186186

League Table (as at December 27th, 2008)

No league table has been added for this season.