Dundee Utd 3
St Mirren 2
League (SPL)

Dundee Utd
3 - 2
St Mirren 

League (SPL)
Saturday, January 24th, 2009
Tannadice Park. Att. 6,556
3:00 PM Kick-off

Warren Feeney (pen.) (71)
Prince Buaben (84)
Warren Feeney (86)
Jack Ross (17)
Billy Mehmet (pen) (73)

Team Managers
Craig Levein
Gus MacPherson

Starting Eleven
1. Lukasz Załuska
18. Garry Kenneth
4. Lee Wilkie
23. Paul Dixon
2. Seán Dillon
15. Craig Conway
16. Morgaro Gomis
25. Prince Buaben
6. Willo Flood
9. Jon Daly
7. Warren Feeney
Mark Howard
Jack Ross
John Potter
Scott Cuthbert
Franco Miranda
Hugh Murray
Andy Dorman
Stephen McGinn
Garry Brady
Craig Dargo
Billy Mehmet

13. Michael McGovern
3. Danny Grainger
19. Mihael Kovačević
14. Danny Swanson
12. David Robertson
26. David Goodwillie
11. Fran Sandaza
Chris Smith
Dennis Wyness
Tom Brighton
Steven Robb
Jim Hamilton
Mark McAusland
Steven Thomson

Fran Sandaza for Jon Daly (63)
Danny Swanson for Craig Conway (78)
David Robertson for Willo Flood (83)
Dennis Wyness for Craig Dargo (83)
Jim Hamilton for Stephen McGinn (89)
Steven Robb for Garry Brady (89)

Jon Daly (38)
Willo Flood (45)
Lee Wilkie (66)
Warren Feeney (71)
Craig Dargo (55)
Franco Miranda (71)

Red Cards
None. None.
Match Officials

Stevie O'Reilly (Referee)

Match Report

United’s never say die attitude dug out a priceless three points today, in a game they could easily have been out of by half time. Having twice fallen behind, Warren Feeney capped a tremendous second half fight-back with the winner just four minutes from full time.

The climax was in stark contrast to the first forty-five where a very impressive showing from the visitors had given them a deserved interval lead. Dorman and Mehmet both struck the woodwork in the opening ten minutes, and while Daly missed a good opportunity on sixteen minutes, Saints were worthy of the opening goal which arrived just a couple of minutes later. And it was a spectacular opener too, with Jack Ross blazing a shot from wide on the right side of the penalty box across the keeper and just inches inside the far post.

United struggled to get into the first half at all with the Saints pressing all over the park. Indeed Mehmet and Murray could have added a second before the interval, which would not have flattered the visitors.

United looked much more up for the battle in the second half, with Daly and Conway going close soon after the break. With less than 20 minutes remaining and St Mirren ahead 1 v 0, there was no sign of the avalanche of goals that was to follow. Then United were level with Feeney blasting a penalty in the top corner after Miranda fouled Wilkie. But within a minute, Wilkie undid his good work by conceding a penalty at the other end with a foul on Dargo – Mehmet sent Zaluska the wrong way and Saints were ahead again.

With seven minutes remaining United committed their final substitute, David Robertson, and immediately he linked with Buaben whose powerful 20 yard drive deceived goalkeeper Howard, and he could only divert the ball up and into the net. With St Mirren looking tired, United went chasing the winner – and all three substitutes were involved when it came. Robertson fed Swanson who sped into the vistors’ half, releasing Sandaza on the right of the box. His low cross come shot back across goal looked like it was going to miss the far post – but Feeney appeared from nowhere to stab the ball home from close range capping a fantastic fightback.

Squad Statistics (as at January 24th, 2009)

2008-09 All Time
Lukasz Załuska (GK)26 27 - 46 -
Garry Kenneth21 15 - 794
Lee Wilkie28 254788
Paul Dixon22 201201
Seán Dillon25 20 - 762
Craig Conway23 253785
Morgaro Gomis23 27 - 832
Prince Buaben20 82385
Willo Flood23 23 - 671
Jon Daly26 1894011
Warren Feeney28 135135
Danny Swanson (sub)22 20 - 342
David Robertson (sub)22 1117713
Fran Sandaza (sub)24 206206

League Table (as at January 24th, 2009)

No league table has been added for this season.